Skip to evidence
Back

WLF proposed keeping 80% of early investors' tokens locked

Reporting and findings

  1. reported

    Reuters reported that early World Liberty Financial investors could already trade 20% of their WLFI tokens and that WLF proposed keeping the remaining 80% locked for two years before vesting it over another two years; investors were due to vote the following week. The same report said WLF had borrowed $75 million against its own tokens, reported repaying $25 million on April 10, and faced investor complaints about frozen funds while WLFI reached a $0.078 low on April 12.

Summary and current status

Early investors could already trade 20%; the proposal would keep the balance on a lock-and-vesting schedule through 2030.

Token-release proposal awaiting an investor vote at the report date

People and organizations

Relationships in this file

  1. Donald J. Trumpson, family-business executive, and co-founder of the Trump-branded WLF ventureDonald Trump Jr.
  2. Donald J. Trumpson, family-business executive, and co-founder of the Trump-branded WLF ventureEric Trump

Money trail

  1. otherReported WLFI price low$0.078 USD per token
    Measured subject
    WLFI token market price
    observed · 2026-04-12 · observedRead source record
    Calculation detailsPopulation WLFI market price reported by Reuters as an all-time low on April 12, 2026Period 2026-04-12 to 2026-04-12Basis Direct observation: Reuters' corrected reported price without multiplying it by token supply or investor holdings.Limits Point-in-time token price, not a realized loss or a portfolio valuation; Reuters corrected the price in its published article.
  2. otherWLF token-collateralized borrowing$75,000,000
    Reported source
    Unnamed lending counterparty
    Reported recipient
    World Liberty Financial
    Measured subject
    World Liberty Financial and its creditors
    reported · 2026-04-15 · observedRead source record
    Calculation detailsPopulation Borrowing World Liberty Financial secured against its own WLFI tokensPeriod 2026-04-15 to 2026-04-15Basis Use the loan principal Reuters reported while preserving the unnamed counterparty and collateralized-debt classification.Limits April 15 is the reporting date because Reuters did not give an origination date. Loan proceeds are company debt, not revenue, token-sale proceeds, family income, or proof of investor loss; the lender, interest, and collateral terms were not reported.
  3. paymentReported partial loan repayment$25,000,000
    Reported source
    World Liberty Financial
    Reported recipient
    Unnamed lending counterparty
    reported · 2026-04-10 · observedRead source record
    Calculation detailsPopulation World Liberty Financial repayment of part of its token-collateralized loanPeriod 2026-04-10 to 2026-04-10Basis Use the repayment amount WLF announced and Reuters reported.Limits Opposite-direction repayment, not an additional benefit; the remaining principal, interest, and collateral disposition were not reported.

Figures

  1. Proposed early-investor locked share80%
    Calculation details
    Basis
    Observed
    Population
    WLFI tokens held by early investors under the proposed release schedule reported on April 15, 2026
    Period
    2026-04-15 to 2026-04-15
    As of
    2026-04-15
    Method
    Use Reuters' reported proposed locked share; 20% was already tradeable and the proposal would put the balance on separate lock and vesting periods.
    Uncertainty
    The proposal awaited an investor vote at the report date; the percentage is neither an enacted schedule nor an investor-loss amount.